Licensed basic emergency medical technicians in Illinois must be at least 18 years of age, have a high school diploma and pass an EMT-B course which consists of 110 classroom hours and ten clinical hours.
How long does it take to become an EMT in Illinois?
Emergency Medical Technician (EMT)
Many EMTs work for ambulance services, hospitals, and fire and police departments. EMTs must complete 120 to 150 hours of training to obtain certification. EMTs take the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) exam.
How much is EMT school in Illinois?
The in-state fees of a basic, as well as paramedic level EMT program in Illinois, vary from college to college, and therefore, it ranges in between $5,000 to $10,000. The duration of EMT-basic program in Illinois is around 120 hours.
How do I get my EMT license in Illinois?
To obtain an EMT license in the state of Illinois you must provide a copy of your EMT certificate along with a current AHA CPR card. With our course you can become Nationally Certified with the NREMT, after passing your exams. With this certificate you can apply for licensure.
Why are EMT paid so little?
Many EMS workers, a category which includes both EMTs and paramedics, say their low pay reflects a lack of appreciation for their work, which can be just as dangerous as and at times even more dangerous than the work of police officers and firefighters….
Is becoming an EMT worth it?
If you define “worth it” in financial terms then, no, EMS is definitely not worth it. The way most in EMS make it work is to work a lot of overtime, have a side business or job you can do, marry someone who has a well paying job with good benefits, or lower your standards.
Which is better EMT or paramedic?
Becoming a paramedic is the highest level of prehospital care and requires much more advanced training than becoming an EMT. … Paramedics also become trained and certified in advanced cardiac life support.
Can you be a trained EMT at 17 in Illinois?
Rockford, Illinois – SwedishAmerican EMS System will offer a daytime class to prepare people to become Emergency Medical Technicians (EMT). … To take the EMT class, you must be at least 17-years-old. To take the EMT licensing exam, you must be 18-years-old and have a high school diploma or GED.
What is the difference between and EMT and a paramedic?
The basic difference between EMTs and paramedics lies in their level of education and the kind of procedures they are allowed to perform. While EMTs can administer CPR, glucose, and oxygen, paramedics can perform more complex procedures such as inserting IV lines, administering drugs, and applying pacemakers.
What state pays the most for EMT?
The states and districts that pay Paramedics the highest mean salary are Hawaii ($56,610), Washington ($56,140), Maryland ($50,750), Alaska ($50,640), and District of Columbia ($47,830).
Can a felon be an EMT in Illinois?
Currently, as part of the Illinois licensing requirement, EMT and paramedic applicants are required to reveal felony convictions. … The state said the drivers felony convictions had not been disclosed on his application or renewal form.